Audio Device Out CHOP

From Derivative
Jump to: navigation, search


Summary

The Audio Device Out CHOP sends audio to any of the attached audio output devices using DirectSound or ASIO. The audio channels can be routed to any speaker location. See Outputs section below.

The second input on the Audio Device Out CHOP can be used for volume control.

Tip: If you get audio popping or audio dropouts, it may be caused by your actual frame rate of your main timeline - some frames may take too long to compute/render. See Time Slicing. There are four possible remedies:

  • The global CHOP Maximum Time Slice Size may be shorter than your worst-case time steps. Its default is .2 seconds set in Edit -> Preferences -> CHOPs -> Maximum Time Slice Size). If any frame takes longer than the Maximum Time Slice Size time to draw, audio will pop.
  • Then the audio buffer size can be increased (the Buffer Length parameter defaults to .15 seconds) up to the Maximum Time Slice Size.
  • Optimize your networks so under no condition your frame time exceeds the audio buffer size or the maximum time slice size. You can monitor this precisely with the Perform CHOP.
  • Put audio in a separate TouchDesigner process.

PythonIcon.pngaudiodeviceoutCHOP_Class


Parameters - Audio Device Out Page

Active active - Turns the audio output on or off.

Driver driver - - Select between DirectSound and ASIO drivers.

  • DirectSound directsound - The default Windows audio driver (a.k.a. WDM).
  • ASIO asio - Low-latency drivers which usually come from the hardware's manufacturer.

Device device - A menu of available audio devices to output to. Selecting default sets the audio device to that which is selected in Windows Control Panel>Sounds and Audio Devices>Audio>Sound Playback.

Outputs outputs - When Driver is set to ASIO, this parameter lets you pick which output channels to use.

Buffer Length bufferlength - The length of the audio buffer in seconds. Audio output is delayed by this amount. For example, if the Buffer Length is 0.25 then the sound will occur 250ms = 0.25 seconds later than this CHOP received it (to keep the buffer full). If you hear crackling or popping in the audio output, try increasing this value.  

Volume volume - 0 = mute, 1 = full volume.  

Pan pan - 0 = left, 0.5 = centered, 1 = right.  

Clamp Output clampoutput - Clamps the output between -1 and 1 to avoid clipping and overdriving of the audio system.

Cook Every Frame cookalways - Forces the CHOP to cook every frame. This should be checked on at all times when outputing audio. It can be turned off when the CHOP is not in use.


Parameters - Output 1 Page

The outputs on this page and the following Output 2 page are for routing to an audio device's different speaker outputs. Not all devices will support all outputs.

When the Audio Device Out CHOP has multiple input channels, the channels are applied to the checked speaker outputs in order. The first input channel is output to the first speaker checked, the second input channel is output to the second speaker checked, and so on.

The following speaker outputs are found on this parameter page:

Front Left frontleft -

Front Right frontright -

Front Center frontcenter -

Low Frequency lowfrequency -

Back Left backleft -

Back Right backright -

Front Left of Center frontleftcenter -

Front Right of Center frontrightcenter -

Back Center backcenter -


Parameters - Output 2 Page

The following speaker outputs are found on this parameter page:

Side Left sideleft -

Side Right sideright -

Top Center topcenter -

Top Front Left topfrontleft -

Top Front Center topfrontcenter -

Top Front Right topfrontright -

Top Back Left topbackleft -

Top Back Center topbackcenter -

Top Back Right topbackright -


Parameters - Common Page

Time Slice timeslice - Turning this on forces the channels to be "Time Sliced". A Time Slice is the time between the last cook frame and the current cook frame.

Scope scope - To determine which channels get affected, some CHOPs use a Scope string on the Common page.

Sample Rate Match srselect - - Handle cases where multiple input CHOPs' sample rates are different. When Resampling occurs, the curves are interpolated according to the Interpolation Method Option, or "Linear" if the Interpolate Options are not available.

  • Resample At First Input's Rate first - Use rate of first input to resample others.
  • Resample At Maximum Rate max - Resample to the highest sample rate.
  • Resample At Minimum Rate min - Resample to the lowest sample rate.
  • Error If Rates Differ err - Doesn't accept conflicting sample rates.

Export Method exportmethod - - This will determine how to connect the CHOP channel to the parameter. Refer to the Export article for more information.

  • DAT Table by Index datindex - Uses the docked DAT table and references the channel via the index of the channel in the CHOP.
  • DAT Table by Name datname - Uses the docked DAT table and references the channel via the name of the channel in the CHOP.
  • Channel Name is Path:Parameter autoname - The channel is the full destination of where to export to, such has geo1/transform1:tx.

Export Root autoexportroot - This path points to the root node where all of the paths that exporting by Channel Name is Path:Parameter are relative to.

Export Table exporttable - The DAT used to hold the export information when using the DAT Table Export Methods (See above).


CHOPs
Ableton Link • Analyze • Angle • Attribute • Audio Band EQ • Audio Device In • Audio Device Out • Audio Dynamics • Audio File In • Audio Filter • Audio Movie • Audio Oscillator • Audio Para EQ • Audio Play • Audio Render • Audio Spectrum • Audio Stream In • Audio Stream Out • Beat • BlackTrax • Blend • Clip Blender • Clip • Clock • Composite • Constant • Copy • Count • CPlusPlus • Cross • Cycle • DAT to • Delay • Delete • DMX In • DMX Out • Envelope • EtherDream • Event • Expression • Extend • Fan • Feedback • File In • File Out • Filter • Function • Gesture • Handle • Helios DAC • Hog • Hokuyo • Hold • In • Info • Interpolate • Introduction To CHOPs id• Inverse Curve • Inverse Kin • Join • Joystick • Keyboard In • Keyframe • Kinect • Lag • Leap Motion • Leuze ROD4 • LFO • Limit • Logic • Lookup • LTC In • LTC Out • Math • Merge • MIDI In • MIDI In Map • MIDI Out • Mouse In • Mouse Out • NatNet In • Noise • Null • Object • Oculus Audio • Oculus Rift • OpenVR • OSC In • OSC Out • Out • Override • Panel • Parameter • Pattern • Perform • Pipe In • Pipe Out • PosiStageNet • Pulse • RealSense • Record • Rename • Render Pick • Reorder • Replace • Resample • S Curve • Scan • Script • Select • Sequencer • Serial • Shared Mem In • Shared Mem Out • Shift • Shuffle • Slope • SOP to • Sort • Speed • Splice • Spring • Stretch • Switch • Sync In • Sync Out • Tablet • Time Slice • Timeline • Timer B • Timer • TOP to • Touch In • Touch Out • Trail • Transform • Trigger • Trim • Warp • Wave